Architecture and History of the House


 
The Gollmar Guest House B&B
Built between 1889 and 1894 by railroad engineer, William G. Wallace,
this house is an excellent and rare example of the Shingle Style. Notice how the gable ends are pushed out and there is no roof overhang or eave. This is very characteristic of the style that emphasizes the forms that make up the house wrapped in a tight "skin" usually of decorative shingles. Some features of Queen Anne Free Classic style are also apparent. These would include the turned porch columns and a panel on the west side with free flowing ribbons. Inside, the house boasts a hand painted cherub ceiling over the impressive staircase as well as several original light fixtures. Note the lamp on the stair newel post. Also notice the intact butler's pantry and Depression Era mural painted in the dinning room.

The house past through several hands, but was once owned by Baraboo mayor and doctor, Mr. D. M. Kelly. It was purchased in 1914 by Benjamin Gollmar who was the treasurer of the Gollmar Brothers Circus, which started here in Baraboo in 1891. The Gollmars lived here for two generations, Viola Gollmar (the youngest daughter) and Leora (Gollmar) Phillips. Thomas R. Luck bought the house from Leora (Gollmar) Phillips in 1979.  The present owners bought the home in 2002


The Gollmars from left to right
Benjamin Gollmar,
Isabelle and Leora Gollmar,
and Viola Gollmar
Benjamin Gollmar was the Treasure and part owner
of the Gollmar Brother Circus 1891 to 1916

Our Brochure
 Tour of the House
The Bedrooms
The Guest Parlor
Cupids in the Stairway
Dinning Room & Others
 Room Rates and Directions
Past Guest Comments

Return to Home
Email: info@gollmar.com

Copyright  by The Gollmar Guest House
Maintained by Thomas R. Luck

Last Modified 2/11/2014